for the

AHRMA Annual Conference

July 26 & 27, 2018

New Conference Location 

The Hyatt Regency, Austin


for the

AHRMA Annual Conference

July 26 & 27, 2018

New Conference Location Hyatt Regency

Volunteer's of the Month

2018 Membership Renewal Period

Log into your profile to renew now

Applications are now being accepted for the 2018 Stepping Stones program!

- Up to 36 hours of HRCI recertification credits!

Stepping Stones to Enhanced Leadership is a creative and innovative program designed, developed, and implemented to meet the professional development needs of individual members of the Austin Human Resource Management Association (AHRMA), provide HR Certification Institute (HRCI) as well as the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) recertification credit, create a pipeline of emerging leaders for AHRMA’s Board of Directors succession planning, and meet employers needs for improvement of employee engagement, retention, and professional development.

2018 Dates:

3/22, 4/26, 5/24, 6/21, 7/19, 8/23, 9/20, 10/25, 11/29

All sessions will be held from 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. at the Austin Dispute Resolution Center located in the Chase Bank Tower, 5407 North IH-35, Suite 410  Austin, TX 78723


Programs similar to AHRMA's Pinnacle Award winning leadership development course cost approximately $4,500/person; however, AHRMA members are offered the course at the discounted rate of $350.  Non-AHRMA participants may participate in the program for a fee of $400 per person, payable no later than February 9, 2018.

APPLICATION FEE:  There is a one-time, non-refundable application fee of $75, which must be submitted along with the completed application in order to be considered for selection.

Program Completion Recognition:

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

APPLY NOW! Applications open through January 26th!




Austin SHRM Team,

If you have a facility in Austin, you may be interested in sharing this with your Austin team.  Austin has passed a resolution to ‘study’ implementing a mandated paid sick leave ordinance to ALL employers in Austin. Here’s the latest from the City of Austin’s paid sick time initiative. 

From: Tina Cannon  [mailto:tcannon@austinchamber.com]


I wanted to share the most recent City of Austin communication related to the proposed mandatory sick time policy that Council is considering. You will see in the email a link to an online portal that sets the stage for sick time as a positive and then has some rather leaning questions. Even the email itself leans toward this being a positive policy direction with just one policy paper noted that supports the predetermined city position. Nowhere does the online forum ask, “should we have a policy that mandates sick time for private employers? What are the financial impacts, etc” You will see some early comments to that effect in the forum. Please be sure to add yours and share with your members. It would be helpful for all of our organizations to send this link around and be sure to have many voices in the conversation.

Reminder – the first COA meeting is this week! Please attend and share with your members.

  • Talking points:
  •   Many employers currently offer variety of PTO options
  •   Employers continue to encounter challenges in designing workplace flexibility policies that do not conflict with the FMLA, the FLSA,    and other federal and state laws.
  • Existing statutes may prevent or discourage employers from adopting flexible scheduling, telecommuting or compressed workweeks.
  •  Many employers believe that the FMLA and its implementing regulations are not responsive to the evolving needs and lifestyles of today’s workforce.
  • Every new mandate on business comes at a cost. If businesses are required to provide things like paid leave, something else has to give whether that is cuts in jobs, cuts in wages, or cuts in other benefit
  • Government data shows that mandatory paid leave policies have cost jobs. Since it was enacted in San Francisco in 2007 quick-service restaurants have cut jobs by 8%.  (source:TRA)

Contact AHRMA:

7000 Mopac, Suite 200, Austin, TX 78731

Phone: 1-800-561-2096   Fax:  1-512-514-6001

Email:  ahrma@austinhumanresource.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software